FAIRBANKS – Fairbanks has its roots in gold. When Felix Pedro found gold in Fish Creek in 1902, he and his fellow prospectors laid the groundwork for today’s lively community. Pedro, and the miners who followed him, including those active today, forged a rich history that is captured in the Alaska Mining Hall of Fame museum on First Avenue.
The museum, organized by the Alaska Mining Hall of Fame Foundation, opened in summer 2014 and is located in the Historic Bath House and Oddfellow’s Hall at 825 First Ave., on the corner of First Avenue and Cowles Street.
The two-story building was constructed in 1907. The Alaska Mining Hall of Fame Foundation was formed to honor outstanding individuals who have played important roles in the development of Alaska’s mineral industry.
The mining pioneers include a wide variety of individuals active since the mid-19th century, including prospectors, miners, mine entrepreneurs, professional geologists and engineers, educators, government employees, aviators and even those in the legal profession.
The individuals are known, understood and appreciated for their contributions to the development of the territory, and subsequently the state, of Alaska. The Alaska Mining Hall of Fame Foundation began inducting pioneers in the Hall of Fame in 1997.
For the rest of this article, click here: http://www.newsminer.com/visitors_guide/museum-offers-nuggets-of-mining-history/article_3f9e0b14-52f9-11e7-93ce-37d0f6c3e96a.html