Record 10 indigenous MPs elected to the House of Commons – by Tim Fontaine (CBC News Aboriginal – October 20, 2015)

8 Liberal and 2 NDP MPs of indigenous heritage will take a seat in Parliament

There will be a record number of indigenous people in the House of Commons following Monday’s federal election, which saw 10 indigenous MPs elected.

That’s an increase of three from the 2011 election, when seven indigenous people won seats. But there was a significant shift towards Liberal representation, away from Conservative and NDP.

Of the 18 indigenous candidates the Liberals ran, eight won seats. Only one, Yvonne Jones from Labrador, was an incumbent.

Notable new Liberal MPs include Jody Wilson-Raybould, a regional chief of the Assembly of First Nations who took the newly created riding of Vancouver-Granville with just over 40 per cent of the vote.

In the inner-city riding of Winnipeg Centre, former mayoral candidate Robert-Falcon Ouellette unseated longtime NDP MP Pat Martin, capturing 56 per cent of the vote.

“The goal of this campaign was never, never, never just to win. The goal of this campaign was to see your values reflected in Ottawa, to see your values reflected in our Parliament,” Ouellette said Monday night.

The NDP, which ran 22 indigenous candidates, saw just two of them elected. Incumbent Romeo Saganash barely held his Abitibi-Baie-James-Nunavik-Eeyou seat in a tight race against a non-indigenous Liberal challenger.

The Green Party ran 10 indigenous candidates but none were elected.

The Conservatives, who once had four sitting indigenous MPs — the most of any party — lost every single one of them in this election. Two opted not to run again but two others were defeated, including the first Inuk cabinet minister, Leona Aglukkaq, who placed third in Nunavut.

While there were a record 54 indigenous candidates running in this election, indigenous people will end up occupying just three per cent of the 338 seats in the House of Commons:
Liberal Party of Canada

Vance Badawey (Métis) – Niagara Centre, Ontario
Yvonne Jones (Inuit) – Labrador
Michael McLeod (Métis) – Northwest Territories

For the rest of this article, click here:

Comments are closed.